Nik @ Noon

Gossip and Grilled Cheese, anyone?

Request: Please Don’t Smack Me (Just Send Me Your Ideas!) July 7, 2009

Filed under: Scavenger Hunt '09 — nikatnoon @ 8:50 pm
Tags: ,

*tap tap tap* Ahem…Hiya Party Peeps! Um, remember me? Yes, I am blogging from behind my handy dandy steel knight’s shield for this homecoming blog. I am fully prepared to dodge all tomatoes and shoes that may be thrown at me tonight for abandoning you fine people, so g’ahead. Bring it on. I deserve it. Just don’t hold it against me that I have mad medieval shielding skills. I am, however, sowwy 😦 I wish I could tell you that I have not been blogging because I have been doing important, worldly things such as ending world hunger or courting Bradley Cooper, but the truth is, well, I’ve kinda just been hanging out. Took a few trips, started to get back in shape and scored a sweet tan along the way (even though my face is on the verge of peeling off as we speak). Believe it or not, I have been making some progress on my 101 in 1001 and will update accordingly later this week. One of the goals on the list actually is going to make my blogging a whole lot easier, too: My Gramps got me an iPhone for my birfday so now I can blog remotely! Who knows what I might share with ya’ll now. Stay tuned! There are lots of many exciting things coming up and promise to be more in touch along the way.

For now, however, I need your help! I know, right, some nerve I have abandoning you and then putting you to work all of a sudden! Some parent I am 🙂 But I think you might have some fun with this one. So, party peeps, let me tell you about my latest undertaking: A good ol’ fashioned summer Scavenger Hunt! Woohoo! The newspaper for the county I live in, the Contra Costa Times, is hosting a summer travel Scavenger Hunt that I am participating in to spice up my summer travels and have some fun capturing unusual things. I have until August 26th to find as many things on the list as possible, and document them by taking a picture with me in it. The newspaper has various categories in which to win, and are giving away different prizes for each. After reviewing the list, the issue now is actually FINDING these things! They are tough! The only rule (besides me being in each photo) is that I have to find the items outside of the SFO Bay Area. That is where you come in, Party Peeps! I have listed below the items I need to find, and am formally requesting your assistance in pointing me in the right direction! If any of you know of something in this list in your town, or in another town outside of the Bay Area, help a girl out! So far this summer, I have trips planned to visit my Grams in the Sierra Foothills in California, to visit my Gramps in Hawai`i and to visit the Lover in Southern California again so I will definitely be looking to fulfill the list in those areas. However, if you have suggestions outside of those areas, please mention them anyway! I just might be willing to make a special roadtrip for that item! I know what you’re thinking: What do I get outta this? So, for every suggestion I receive that turns into an actual submitted photo, I will post the photos along with the suggestions and suggesters, upon completion of the hunt. It will then be up to all of you to vote on the most creative suggestion. That winner will then receive a personalized crafty craft, (it will be something good!) handcrafted by yours truly, via mail. Deal? So, on with it! Here is the list! Your cash donations suggestions are greatly appreciated!

  • Town Mascot
  • Gas Station adapted for a different use
  • Professional Fisherman with Catch
  • Town Square Clock
  • Headstone inscribed with date before 1800’s
  • Double-Decker Bus
  • Dog on the Beach
  • Me assisting a Street Performer
  • A Real Outhouse (no Port-a-Potties allowed)
  • Red Barn
  • Sign with Mother’s, Ma’s or Mom’s on it (or foriegn equivalent)
  • Cobblestone Street
  • Oversized Animal Sculpture
  • Outdoor Pay Phone
  • Statue or Art made entirely from edible food
  • A sign that is intentionally or unintentionally funny
  • A Camel (bonus point if not in the Zoo)
  • Town Sign with Population of 100 or less
  • A former Jail
  • Something unusual not on the list

I plan on finding a few of these things in Old Town Columbia this weekend in the Sierra Foothills, and will post pics along the way to let you know what I’ve found. So, fire away Party Peeps! 

Party on Waynes,

nik

 

11 Responses to “Request: Please Don’t Smack Me (Just Send Me Your Ideas!)”

  1. Stacy Says:

    A pre-1800’s headstone, that’s a tough one as CA is an early state, but there is hope. The California Missions have the oldest cemeteries. http://www.interment.net/us/ca/missions/index.htm It would require some planning first to make sure that the trip to one of them will net you some results. I’m sure there are phone numbers for each one of them to call ahead and ask for more info. Two noted burials are in Carmel’s mission http://www.interment.net/us/ca/missions/noted.htm

    I remember a gas station adapted for a different use in downtown Bakersfield. It’s across the street from the downtown post office (old building). The gas station is now a smoothie, etc place of some sort. Maybe if you drive through some old parts of each city that has the oldest buildings, maybe you’ll have luck finding an old gas station converted.

    A GPS will help you find a place with Mother’s, Ma’s, or Mom’s by entering only those letters, then it will search for places that match those keywords. Try Grandmarcia’s GPS or Google Maps online.

    LA has double decker buses doing tours. This is the company http://ladoubledecker.com/

    • nikatnoon Says:

      A California Mission – that is a GREAT idea! I plan on perusing the Jamestown cemetery, however I know that is Gold Rush era (1800’s and on). But will definitely hit up a mission when I go back to SoCal! That is great. I’m also going to visit the Kona Memorial Park in Holualoa for the family reunion. We always do a day trip up to that cemetery (absolutely gorgeous), as we have a lot of family members buried there. May find some there as well.

      The LA Double Decker bus company I actually knew about as well. One of my girlfriends who got married a few years back did something really fun with them – she arrived at the church with her and her bridesmaids all on the top deck! So fun. Maybe I will track down their lot the next time I am in LA and sneak a visit in 🙂 Thanks for the ideas!

  2. Stacy Says:

    You can find some town clocks by googling it with California as keyword in the images section. Flickr is also a good try to see if anyone has taken photos of any of the above.

    • nikatnoon Says:

      Great minds think alike! I spent some time googling clock towers and town mascots last night. I didn’t have much luck in California, but I did find the Aloha Clock Tower on O`ahu which I will definitely visit.

  3. Aunt Lucy Says:

    Nik, there are several repurposed gas stations up here and you’ll pass a Red Barn coming up Hwy 108

    • nikatnoon Says:

      There are several repurposed gas stations!?!? JACKPOT! That was one of the ones I was having trouble finding. I did find The Filling Station Cafe in Orange, CA, but not sure how much of the actual pumps you can see. Maybe we can take a drive this wknd and check them out.

      Does Sonora or Columbia have a town mascot? This has me STUMPED!

  4. Brooke Dooley Says:

    I’m going to Jamaica next month. I’ll see what I can find!

  5. Stacy Says:

    Brooke, Nikki has to be in the photo, so no way she can go all the way to Jamaica. 😉

  6. monialicia Says:

    The filling station didn’t resemble anything of an actual gas station when I lived in Orange, its all outdoor tables and plants

    Hit up the performers by the Kodak building on Hollywood

    If Vacaville doesn’t count as the sfo bay area, there are a bunch of barns out there and one of them have camels! My cousin was married there so I can try to get you more info if it counts.

    There are tons of outdoor phone in L.A still!

    What a fun hunt!


Leave a Reply

